My husband thinks I’m crazy!

Okay, maybe I am a little crazy. I’ve never been one to fit a mold. Anyway, the reason he thinks I’m crazy now is because I want to take the Dirty Diaper Laundry Flats Challenge.

I think it’ll be kinda neat to make a camp-style washer to hand wash all my diapers and hang them on the line like my mom and grandma used to do. I know my mom used prefolds on my sister and me, infact, here’s a vintage shot of me in my prefold and a Bambi cover!

I spent some time canvassing friends who may have flats I could borrow. Bust.
 
Then I went on Kijiji, Canada’s version of Craigslist, and found lots of receiving blankets but no flats. I *could* use those but I still wanted flats.
 
Today I packed up Bubba and Boo and went down to a local diaper/crunchy mama store, A Soft Landing, hoping they’d have flats. Nope. Lots of other beautiful diapers but no flats.
 
Then it hit me like a TON of bricks. My mother-in-law. She saved EVERYTHING from when my husband and his brothers were little INCLUDING their diapers! I’m going to call her tomorrow and ask her to bring them when they come for Easter. She’ll be so thrilled that my boys’ bums are going to be covered with the same diapers their daddy and uncle wore!
 
I told my husband and he again looked at me like I had 2 heads. “It’s okay,” I said, “it’s only for one week. I want to do this so I’ll do all the work.” We’ll see if he comes around but honestly, I’m okay with just one week of me doing all the diapering and laundering of said diapers. I think this will be a great challenge! I can’t wait to see those 30 year old diapers flapping on my clothesline!
About allisontreble

I am a wife, mother, and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My husband thinks I’m crazy!

  1. Kim @ Dirty Diaper Laundry says:

    I can’t wait to see you take on this challenge! What an adorable photo too.

    Kim
    http://www.dirtydiaperlaundry.com

Leave a Reply

