I used to be a dink.

That’s right, I said it. The first step is admission, right?

I used to be a dink. Or a D.I.N.K. My husband was one too. I admit it. For 3 1/2 years of our marriage we had Double Incomes and No Kids.

In the last 18 months though, we’ve welcomed not one, but two, yes TWO, babies. No wonder I feel so behind on housework and can’t find time to blog. I went from caring for myself and sharing all household responsiblities with my husband to caring for myself and 2 babies. My husband still takes care of his household responsibilities and often picks up my slack too. He’s great with the kids too.

I’m currently a stay at home mom on parental leave from work. I have to return to work in October and I am already keeping one eye on the calendar and dreading having to leave my kids. I am lucky though that my husband is sweet and understanding. We’ve discussed it and I am only going back to work 1/2 time. One night while we were discussing my return to work I said that if I went back full time we’d have lots of extra money and we could pay down our (large) mortgage faster. Sweet man that he is said without hesitation, “it’s not all about money.” Thank goodness I picked this amazing man to spend my life with and have children with!

I also am working on my Master’s Degree in Education and have recently started selling Peekaboo Beans, a kids’ clothing line.

So, there it is. I used to be a D.I.N.K. I tried to come up with an acronym for what I am now. I couldn’t make a catchy one word acronym for Stay At Home and Work From Home  Mom of Two Kids Who Goes to School and Earns Some Money. What was that? SAHAWFHMOTKWGTSAESM? Yeah, that’s not really cutting it. I think it’s better just to say, “I used to be a dink.”

About allisontreble

I am a wife, mother, and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

