Cloth Diapering at Daycare

When I had to go back to work this past May and Bubba had to go into some kind of day care it was important to me to find someone who would use my cloth diapers as well as give Bubba a safe, caring place to spend the day. There were a number of daycares that wouldn’t even consider cloth diapers. I did find a few who would consider it and I was very happy. The not considering using cloth was a deal breaker for me.

Honestly, I think these day care providers are like most other people and think that cloth diapers means flats or prefolds, pins, rubber pants, and wet pails for dirty diapers. It’s totally NOT like that anymore.

For home I learned how to sew pocket diapers from an online friend of mine. She was extremely helpful! 

For daycare I bought some diapers that were affordable yet easy for the caregiver to use. We bought Smartipants because they don’t cost a lot for a manufactured diaper, are easy to use (basically like a disposable), and really easy to wash since you don’t have to pull out the insert. After you change the cloth diaper you just toss them in a water resistant bag called a wetbag. I sewed my own! I’m glad we found a young, open-minded caregiver for Bubba who was willing to use cloth diapers.

About allisontreble

I am a wife, mother, and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

